LT  EN  
 
  Martin A. Dege

About us    

Republic of Lithuania

  

General information:
Location: On the eastern shore of the Baltic Sea. The National Geographical Institute of France determined in 1989 that the geographical centre of Europe lies 24 km northwest of Vilnius.
Area: 65,300 sq. km
Climate: Maritime/continental. Average July temperature +23°C; January - 4.9°C.
Time: GMT + 2 hours. When it's 12:00 in Vilnius, it'll be 11:00 in Stockholm and Frankfurt, 10:00 in London and 05:00 in New York.
Capital: Vilnius
Type of government: Parliamentary Republic.
Population: 3,454,000.
Largest cities by population: Vilnius 553,200; Kaunas 373,700; Klaipėda 191,600; Šiauliai 132,700; Panevėžys 118,800.
Ethnic composition: Lithuanian 83.5%, Polish 6.7%, Russian 6.3%, Byelorussian 1.2%, others 2.3%. People of 115 different ethnic backgrounds live in Lithuania.
Religions: Predominantly Roman Catholic. There are also Russian Orthodox, Evangelical Lutherans, Evangelical Reformers, Old Believers, Jews, Sunni Muslims, Karaims.
National currency: Litas (Lt). Fixed exchange rate is 3.4528 Lt = 1 EUR. Lithuania expects to become a member of the European Monetary Union in 2007. More information about today's exchange rates.
National holidays:
January 1 - New Year's Day
February 16 - Independence Day (1918)
March 11 - Restoration of Independence (1990)
Easter Sunday and Easter Monday - According to Roman Catholic calendar
May 1 - Labour Day
First Sunday of May - Mothers Day
June 24 - Midsummer Festival
July 6 - Coronation of Mindaugas, King of Lithuania
August - 15 Assumption Day
November - 1 All Saints' Day
December 25-26 - Christmas

 
  © e-Solution: InDis Baltic